Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Doc Malik Honest Health

#216 - Dr Robin Kelly MD - What All Doctors Should Aspire To Be Like

August live stream for paid subscribers - The private Rumble link at the bottom of this post
10

HEALTH - LIBERTY - HAPPINESS

SUPPORT DOC MALIK HONEST HEALTH

Working For The People - Zero Corporate Sponsors - 100% supported by the People

The UK’s best podcast ;)


Thank you for the lovely recent reviews folks, much appreciated!


To all the new paid subscribers and supporters thank you so much! Please keep sending the messages. I love them!


About this episode -

I received this email from Robin on 18th February 2024 and I was sold.

Forget Bios and intros, have a read of the email itself.

Hello Ahmad

Recently I linked you to my friend Bruce Dooley who has an in-depth knowledge how medical councils, and hence all ‘Western’ doctors, are controlled globally. This maybe something you have already covered - so absolutely fine if this isn’t needed to be pursued.

My own story may be of interest though. Listening to your recent podcasts, I feel I can offer something – in fact this is great need in me as I am 72 now! I’d love others to experience a life in family medicine as joyful and fulfilling as mine.

As your own family time is precious, I’ll summarise with a few bullet points:

· Son of a Nth London Irish GP.

· Qualified in 1974. Married 1975

· Emigrated to New Zealand Dec 1977.

· 6 years in hospital medicine before going into General Practice in Auckland1981

· Attracted to the independence of GP here – 15 minute consultations. Minor surgery etc.

· GP partner had been to China and was doing acupuncture. I was impressed.

· Same GP partner died that year of metastatic melanoma. So I took over his acupuncture patients.

· 10 years of studying Chinese medicine alongside Western medicine. In depth.

· In 1991, moved to solo practice practising from home with my fab wife as practice nurse, manager. Had to extend consult times to 20 minutes minimum. New patients 60 -90 min. Listening ++

· Active as president and principal teacher in our Medical Acupuncture Society and Pan Pacific Medical Acupuncture forum. At this time there were 400 NZ docs doing some form of acupuncture here.

· 90s also spent time as medical director of local hospice, meditating, qi gong etc. Creativity flourished. Wrote many songs and released 1st album of originals. 1999 wrote 1st book for Penguin – how to combine Eastern and Western Medicine, biophysics etc.

· 2000s moved to wipe off mortgage – extending consult times to 30 mins minimum. Explored Vedic philosophies, chakras, and wrote 2nd book making these concepts relevant for ‘westerners.’ This and my 3rd book The Human Hologram both won Best Science Book in a US book award.

Brief TV interview:

Since then have written 5 more albums of music and more recently a book of poetry.

· Did a TEDx talk on The Human Hologram 2009

· 2015 lost a high court case brought by my family against a leading building corporation. Re the building of our house. Essentially financially cleaned out. Most traumatic time. Witnessed the full wrath of psychopathy and corruption. Subsequently discovered the high court judge and the defendant were founding shareholders (2 of 6) in an international multi-million dollar software company. The defendant had even been elected by the judge as director!

· Studied the whole psychopathy, narcissistic personality disorder subject – and did a You Tube channel called ‘Goodbye Psychopaths.’ Picked up by Rich Willett now with Ickonic.

· Involved in UK documentaries on dangers of electronic devices for children, and co- authored peer reviewed papers on non- ionising radiation’s harmful effects. Podcasts and lectures on this.

· Wrote and performed with 2 other musicians a musical odyssey, ‘In the Footsteps of the Forgotten’ linking transgenerational trauma with our traumas in confronting psychopathic corporations. Tragedy and comedy. Auckland Fringe Festival. Feb 2020

· Work with Ickonic – documentaries and a series on my Human Hologram. And a recent podcast on AI and poetry!

· Getting back on our feet by 2020, and then covid etc,

· Now have had to expand practice to include those leaving their doctors and the vaccine injured.

Bottom line message to doctors: the most valuable thing is to spend time listening to patients. This means less drugs. More discussion on diet, lifestyle, self-compassion. Cups of tea. Hugs. Exploring not only the effects of trauma, but how to honour the creative in us all.

Yes – I earn about ¼ of others in general practice – but unlike many of them, I love and am passionate about my life. I’ve resisted becoming a health bureaucrat. Folk come into our purpose-built medical rooms attached to our house, and are treated like valued guests. This means you don’t need 2000 patients – just a couple of hundred. Our consulting times are full of laughter and tears.

Only staff are my wife Trish +me. And our dog Alfie.

We never signed onto the government scheme 20 yrs ago here -based on the NHS.

So….(I meant it to be briefer than this, Ahmad!) my motivation for possible discussion is to try to show the way to younger doctors - how to have a joyful meaningful life in medicine, but also to encourage your non-medical followers to seek out, even demand, this type of care.

Along the way, we can touch on any (or none) of the above. Just a conversation. And we can make it fun. Only when you are ready.

Love your work and your stance.

Robin (happy subscriber)

What an amazing guy!

I hope you enjoy this podcast where we cover so many topics including chinese medicine and accupuncture.

Much love

Ahmad x

Links -

Website - www.robinkelly.co.nz


If you are subscribed to my paid Spotify subscription - click here

Doc Malik Honest Health is a reader-listener supported publication. To support my work, and stick a finger in the eye of the bastards, upgrade to Paid and join the clan of freedom loving dissidents!


Health - Liberty - Happiness

Support Doc Malik

To subscribe to my paid substack - click here

To subscribe to my paid Spotify episodes - click here

To make a one time donation - Buy me a Coffee

For a regular coffee donation - click here

Remember after my cancellation I am wholly reliant on you, my listeners and readers to carry on my work speaking out for YOU and YOUR families.

Your contribution will make a difference.


Affiliates

As the number of paid subscribers grows slowly and gradually, I’ve had to find other ways to augment my income. I am only recommending products that I and my family already use.

I’ll do separate substacks on each of them later.

Hunter & Gather

The first is Hunter & Gather foods. If you want to pursue a keto or carnivore diet and avoid seed oils then I can’t recommend their products enough. Check out there website https://hunterandgatherfoods.com to see what they offer.

Use DOCHG to get 10% OFF all your purchases (so buy a ton load).

I get 10% on all sales, so please buy a lot (hee hee).

Olive Oil Classic Mayonnaise 250g

MERCHANDISE

You also have 10% off all my merch using the code - DOCMALIKSUPPORTER

CHECK OUT MY MERCH STORE HERE



Doc Malik Honest Health is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

To all the new subscribers welcome to the Clan!

Please make sure to check your emails download the Substack app so that you can join the chat function.

And oh yeah thank you for the coffee folks x

I hope you enjoy this episode.

YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL AND AWESOME

Much love Ahmad

Private Rumble link is below

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Doc Malik Honest Health to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Doc Malik Honest Health
Doc Malik Honest Health Podcast
Authentic conversations with fascinating people exploring health and wellness. Supported by listeners and readers.
To receive new posts and support my work, please subscribe.
There is no paywall, pay only if you want to support me and my show.
Love x